top of page
Search
  • Gillian Byrom-Smith

Remembrance


Remembrance Until we recently moved house I didn't know that my great uncle Frederick was killed in the First World War and is buried in France. I found his name on the memorial which I have walked past so many times. Today I have been thinking about him along with all the others that lost their lives. Here is my poem The Poppies of the Field which I dedicate to him. The Poppies of the Field by Gillian Byrom-Smith They walked amongst us, those that were lost. School friends, workmates, mothers, fathers, brothers, sisters. People like us, so far away, so close. Faded faces, faded names. They walked amongst us, those that were lost. They built our homes, attended our schools, strolled our streets. Their fingerprints and footsteps left shadows on our houses and paths. They walked amongst us, those that were lost. We build tombs, lay wreaths, write poems. Memories falter and fade whilst poppies grow and bloom. They walked amongst us, those that were lost.

42 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page